top of page

AYURVEDA- Know your type of Dosha

Updated: Jun 14, 2021

Ayurveda is an integrative way of living. Considered as one of the world's oldest holistic healing practices, it believes that health and wellness depends on a delicate balance between the mind, body, and spirit.

Ayurvedic medicine is a system of diagnosis and treatment that has been practiced in India for more than 5000 years. the term Ayurveda comes from Sanskrit roots Ayur which means "life," and Veda, meaning "knowledge". ⁠⠀


The Ayurvedic theory holds that all diseases of the body arise from stresses in the awareness, or consciousness, of the individual; the stresses lead to unhealthy lifestyles, producing a cycle of ill health. Physical manifestations of the disease are attributed to the imbalance of three basic physiological principles, called "Doshas".⁠⠀

The "Vata Dosha" represents the kinetic energy of the body; Vata makes the heartbeat, causes blood to flow, and stimulates brain and nerve functions. ⁠⠀

The "Kapha Dosha" is potential energy, responsible for physical strength and the lubrication of tissues.⁠⠀

The "Pitta Dosha" is considered a mediator between Vata and Kapha, governs the metabolic processes of the body, from digestion to cell operation.⁠⠀


If these three principles cease to operate in harmony, sickness ensues. Evaluation of doshas is performed by a technique called "Nadi Vigyan", which involves taking the pulse at the wrist. ⁠⠀


This topic is a career in itself that one post won't do justice to it. I have given a gist of what Ayurveda stands for and its principles. ⁠⠀

17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page